The Math of Beauty:Golden Ratio

6 Sep

Image via MBA CA

What makes a person beautiful? And how can we establish a law of beauty? According to the ancient Greeks and a plastic surgeon in (Surprise, surprise) Southern California…we can!

A little over a year ago, I had seen a special on PBS about the mathematics of Beauty. Well…I for one, have never been good at math, hence my major.  I couldn’t believe it!! Apparently this information dates back to ancient Greeks and the “Golden Ratio“. The show explained, that a face that has the same proportions as the Golden Ratio , it will be perceived as beautiful by the human mind.

The Golden Ratio or Phi is a unique number, approximately 1.618033989. Phi says that there is a perfect proportion in the beautiful face. Not only beauty in these faces back up the theory, but health as well.

Human health is affected by facial proportions. Usually, in a case where your face is is disproportionate outside the “Golden Ratio”, there is  a link between health problems such as breathing problems, sleep apnea, abnormal jaw development and many more health biological developments.

Check out Dr. Stephen Marquardt‘s website and be the judge on whether you believe it or not. He proposes celebrities and universally recognized beautiful faces and applies them to the “Golden Ratio” test. You can even take a picture of your face and apply it to the golden ratio theory! Although, I’m not too sure, I’d like to be worrying about the .1 ratio of how much lower my right ear is to my left.

http://www.beautyanalysis.com/index2_mba.htm

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 Responses to “The Math of Beauty:Golden Ratio”

  1. monica September 6, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

    Very interesting! I tried the website you suggested. It’s a lot of fun, especially if your face fits the Golden Ratio.

  2. Starla September 6, 2010 at 7:17 pm #

    I want to make my own mask! Great web site to visit, with lots of information. Thanks

  3. Carol September 6, 2010 at 7:33 pm #

    It is interesting, but also, I find it a little scary. Dr. Marquardt’s mission statement is in part to “positively modify human visual attractiveness”…???? What does that mean??? How will he modify those who fall short of the Golden Ratio? I think I’ll stick with “beauty is in the eye of the beholder” and therefore, we’re ALL beautiful to someone!!

  4. Allison Wisth September 7, 2010 at 8:57 pm #

    How fascinating! I had never heard of this before.

Leave a Reply

