Makeup Steals and Splurges:My Absolute Favs!

28 Sep

Over the years I have been trying out numerous cosmetics. I have grown to absolutely LOVE some products. And most of the time while I’d love to go out and spend my whole paycheck on makeup..I just can’t afford too. My top favorite makeup picks! Expensive and inexpensive tools to make your best decision on whatever budget you are trying to stay in.

Drum roll please…..

Mascara:

ChristianDior.com

Save: Revlon 3D Lash Xtreme

Revlon Fabulash is a great alternative.

Splurge: DiorShow Mascara

The reason I love these products is they all thicken my lashes while making them look longer. I absolutely LOVE eyelashes that are long. While some people are blessed with beautiful long lashes (AHEM my best friend Sara) ..others aren’t. These products really have proven to be the best on the market that I’ve tried..and believe me..I’ve tried many!

Face makeup:

MAC.com

For coverage: Mac Studio Fix- GREAT coverage. Will cover everything!

Downside: Do not wear if you break out easily. It is such a thick makeup that it will clog your pores. Make sure you wash your face regularly

For everyday use: Urban Decay-Surreal Skin (Mineral)

Awesome coverage! It isn’t too thick and stays on well

Downside: It runs out way too fast (1-2 month span)

Best bang for your buck: Bare Essentials Mineral face Makeup

This makeup has good coverage and lasts for a good amount of time.

Downside:To start this product out it starts out pricey..you have to get the brushes, concealer and powder..but after that you just refill your powder and concealer tends to last longer than the powder

Eyeshadow Primer:

UrbanDecay.com

Hands down winner: Urban Decay Eye Shadow Primer

If you’re going to spend any money on an eyeshadow primer it should be this product. I wouldn’t waste my money on anything else. This is the best one, while some may be as good..they usually cost more.

Eye Shadow:

One thing I don’t like to skimp money on is eyeshadow. You can get away with using day makeup at work with

MAC.co

cheaper brands and base colors for your lid (ex. Whites, tans, pinks). However deep colors that you use in your crease should be enriched with pigment. That is why I like MAC cosmetics for my favorite eyeshadow pick.

MAC pigments: These are a good deal because they last virtually forever. I have never run out of any of my color of pigments except Vanilla (my base color I use everyday on my lid). They are a bit pricey (18-20 dollars).

Tip: If you use a precision tip eyeliner brush you can mix a small amount of pigment with a couple drops of water and use it as an eyeliner. Same goes if you use it for eyeshadow..only this keeps your eyeshadow on for longer for nights out!

Blush:

Via Sephora.com

Save: Almay Blush. Simple and affordable. Has a few different colors (not many to choose from) however for me they seem to work.

Splurge: NARS (in color: Orgasm)

This blush is absolutely amazing. It never ceases to amaze me that this color looks good on every skin tone. Try it out at the store and see if it works for you!

Money Saver: You can buy NARS Orgasm Stick. This is a wet version in a lipstick tube form. You can use it for lipstick, blush AND eyeshadow. Love it! As expected..it seems to run out faster when you use them for all three.

Bronzer/Illuminator:

Via Google Images

Save: Physicians Formula:Shimmer Strips (this is a cheaper knock off of my favorite bronzer)

Splurge: Bobby Brown‘s Shimmer Brick!

When I had a friend show me this product, I was absolutely ah-mazed! Let me just tell you..this product makes you absolutely GLOW! And not in a sweaty-looking/shiny way. It seems to contour your face’s cheekbones when used due to the light to dark spectrum of bronzer palette. It truly is pretty pricey, however when I go out I use this, and look and feel amazing!

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 Responses to “Makeup Steals and Splurges:My Absolute Favs!”

  1. Starla September 28, 2010 at 9:29 pm #

    Thank you so much for the tips! I will definately take your advise and try some of the products you raved about.

  2. sara October 2, 2010 at 8:51 pm #

    These are great tips! I’m definitely going to try the Revlon 3D Lash Xtreme. Thanks!

  3. Parasto October 5, 2010 at 11:06 pm #

    I’m so on board to try the bronzer! You literally look fabulous everytime I see you and now I know the secrets:)

Leave a Reply

